CITY OF FRANKLIN POLICE & FIRE COMMISSION MEETING FRANKLIN CITY HALL HEARING ROOM 9229 W. Loomis Road, Franklin, Wisconsin Thursday, August 29, 2024 @ 12:00 p.m.

MINUTES

- I. The August 29, 2024 Police & Fire Commission Meeting was called to order at 12:00 p.m. by Commission President Mineo in the Franklin City Hall Hearing Room. Members present were Commissioners Mineo, Martins, Schlagl and Klusman. Commissioner Donohoo was excused. Also in attendance were Police Chief Liermann, Fire Chief Mayer, and Human Resources Manager Zahn.
- II. Approval of the Minutes from the 6/7/2024 meeting.

Motion by Commissioner Martins and seconded by Commissioner Klusman to approve the minutes from 6/7/2024 as written. Motion Carried: Ayes – All.

III. The Creation of an Eligibility List for the 2021 Police Patrol Officer Hiring Process – Existing Officers

Motion by Commissioner Schnagl and seconded by Commissioner Martins to add the name of Caleb Meyer to the 2021 Police Patrol Officer Hiring List. Motion Carried: Ayes – All.

IV. Hiring of Police Patrol Officer – The Hiring of Caleb J. Meyer as a City of Franklin Police Patrol Officer from the 2021 Police Patrol Officer Hiring Process – Existing Officers.

Motion by Commissioner Schnagl and seconded by Commissioner Martins to approve the appointment of Caleb J. Meyer as a City of Franklin Police Patrol Officer, effective 9/30/24, that said appointment is subject to a 1 year introductory period commencing on the date of appointment, that the 1 year introductory period will expire at the end of 1 year unless extended by the Commission, and that the Police Chief shall provide the Commission reports of his progress when requested by the Commission. Motion Carried: Ayes – All.

V. Police and Fire Department Informational Items

No Action Needed

VI. Commission Elections

This item was tabled until all 5 Commissioners can be present for the vote.

- VII. Future Meeting Dates and Agenda Items.
- VIII. Adjournment.

Motion by Commissioner Schnagl and seconded by Commissioner Martins to adjourn at 12:13 p.m. Motion Carried: Ayes – All.